Official Site of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe

social media icons 93social media icons Facebooksocial media icons Twitter


confer PanoramaThe government of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe is comprised of one legislative body, the Rosebud Sioux Tribal Council, currently made up of 24 elected positions, four officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer) and 20 council representatives. The four officers are elected at-large by enrolled tribal members living on the reservation in staggered terms; President and Vice-President elected for a term of three years and the Secretary and Treasurer elected for a term of two years. One Council Representative is elected, at-large, for terms of three years to represent one of the 20 communities of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe. The communities recognized in the Tribal Constitution are: Antelope, Black Pipe, Bull Creek, Butte Creek, Corn Creek, Grass Mountain, He Dog, Horse Creek, Ideal, Milk's Camp, Okreek, Parmelee, Ring Thunder, Rosebud, St. Francis, Soldier Creek, Spring Creek, Swift Bear, Two Strike and Upper Cut Meat. The RST Council is empowered by the Constitution to, among other powers: Negotiate with Federal, state and local authorities on matters concerning the Tribe; Acquire land and property for use by the Tribe; Advise the United States Secretary of the Interior on Congressional matters and budgets affecting the Tribe; Levy taxes and conduct trade; Pass and enforce laws for public safety, and; Foster cultural celebration and preservation of the Sicangu Lakota Oyate.


Cyril Scott

Cyril L. Scott was born in 1962 to proud Lakota Sioux (Sicangu) parents. President Scott grew up entirely on the Rosebud Indian Reservation graduating from Todd County High School in 1980. Mr. Scott then went into the private sector, traveling the country in various positions until filling a need to return home, to be near his family. Upon returning home Mr. Scott was elected to a seat on the Rosebud Sioux Tribal Council in 2005, where he served for two (2) year representing the Antelope District.

Tribal duty and service is a historic family passion for Cyril and his Tiospaye (Family Clan/Unit). Mona Herman Scott, the mother of President Scott dutifully served as Community Field Representative for the tribal Social Services Department, and organized various community and tribal events that helped to develop the tribal private sector. A proud woman, Mrs. Scott instilled within President Scott the virtue to serve his people, as evident in his new role as President of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe.

"I promised the people of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe 'sustainable economic development' and it's a promise that I aim to keep! Without a local tribally-driven, self-sustaining economy our people, our elders and youth will always be subjected to the federal government in a bad way. If the federal government simply honored its promises, promises made in federal treaties, then our people would not have to suffer the harsh impoverished life that we now know," said President Scott on August 24, 2012, as he gave his acceptance speech to the Rosebud public.

Cyril is a strong believer in historic treaty rights and helped to recently choreograph a large private land acquisition of scared Lakota lands in the Black Hills of South Dakota known as Pe'Sla. Pe'Sla plays a very important and vital role to the Lakota, as it is part of their creation story and location of their yearly renewal ceremonies.


Josh Wilson

Administrative Assistant

Gerri Night Pipe

Legislative Aide


Donald Leader Charge

Community Liaison


Wilma Robertson

Executive Assistant



Katera Greaves




Mary Lambert




Paul Valandra

Economic Specialist 


Vice President

William Kindle

Willie comes from the White River Community and has served the Tribe as President before. After living in Seattle, WA for a time, he grew tired of city life, and wanted to bring his family home to his people. He always knew that he public service was his calling, and has given many years to the service of his people.

 The Vice President Office serves in the President's Office capacity however it can, to ensure the quality and effectiveness of the services that the President's office and Council provides. Along with efforts on behalf of the President and Council, the Vice Presidents office offers its own unique services and efforts, to compliment those of the Council and the President.

We at the Vice President's Office invite everyone from the public to dialogue with us and build strong relations between the Council and Tribal members.

We are also making great efforts to strengthen our economy to bring further development and growth, opening the job market, building financial independence, and promoting potential relations with outside entities.



Cindy Estes
Executive Assistant 

Brooke Dunham
Office Manager



Byron Wright, Treasurer



Julie Peneaux  Secretary

Julie Peneaux, RST Secretary

Sergeant at arms

Glen Yellow Eagle